American School Band Directors Association

  • Promoting excellence in K-12 school band programs.

  • Recognizing excellence in teaching.

  • Providing educational research for the 21st-century music classroom.

Founded in 1953, the American School Band Directors Association (ASBDA) is a national organization for band directors whose mission is to promote, enhance and preserve quality school programs through leadership and fellowship of exemplary band directors.

ASBDA is a prominent, active, and effective national organization to influence school band programs.

Carousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageThe IL Chapter hosted the first of their "Looking Toward the Future" guest series with composer Julie GirouxCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel image

Date: 5/2/2021

Congratulations to, soon-to-be-retired, Ohio member Brian Stevens at Dublin Jerome High School in Dublin, Ohio. Brian was recently awarded the Columbus Symphony 2021 Music Educator Award. The Symphony honors individuals who make a difference in the community through a dedication to music education and promotion of a greater understanding of and appreciation for the art form.

Date: 4/18/2021

Dr. Ed Cannava was a public school music educator for 32 years. Ed served as the instrumental music director at Arapahoe High School for 22 years. Ed Cannava has received many prestigious awards as the Arapahoe Director of Bands during his tenure, however, he has continued to nurture and foster the passion of music in students after his retirement in 2009. Since Ed’s retirement, he has created the Denver Jazz Club Youth All-Stars.

The DJC Youth All-Stars have been featured with many professional musicians including Bob Draga, Eddie Erickson, Duke Heitger, Dan Levinson, Kris Tokarski, Randy Sandke, Jim Fryer, Bria Skonberg, Eddie Metz, Jr., Dr. Bach and the Jazz Practitioners, the Summit Hot Seven, the Big Mama Sue Quartet, the Preservation Hall Jazz Band, the Treme Brass Band, the Crescent Katz, the Au Brothers Jazz Band, the Blue Street Jazz Band, the Queen City Jazz Band, and Kristy Reed’s Valley Finest. This band has performed all over the world in numerous Jazz Festivals such as, but not limited to: 9 years at the Sacramento Hot Jazz Jubilee, Montreux Jazz Festival, Montreux Meets Brienz Jazz Festival, the Expo in Citta Festival (Milan, Italy), Washington Artillery Park, Preservation Hall (including a clinic with the Preservation Hall Jazz Band), the Seton Volume 29, Number 2 April 2021 6 Hall University’s Jazz ‘n the Hall Concert Series, and the Assisi, Italy Music Festival, The DJC Youth All-Stars also premiered at the Kongsberg, Norway International Jazz Festival. Ed Cannava is currently teaching at Regis University as Director of Bands, as well as continuing his work with the DJC Youth All-Stars. Ed is a true ambassador of educating our youth who love music. He has spent his life teaching and promoting the passion of music to others and has continued after retirement. Dr. Cannava is an inspiration to the many thousands of students that he has taught, instilling in them the love of music and the concept that “Music is Forever.”

Denver Jazz Club Youth All-Stars

Date: 4/10/2021

At the annual winter meeting of the Mississippi Bandmasters Association Ms. Dee Dee Pitts, Mississippi State Chair, was awarded the Mississippi Phi Beta Mu Director of the Year Award. Congratulations Ms. Pitts!

Date: 4/2/2021

Roane County High School Band Director, Zack Williamson, has been awarded the John Philip Sousa Legion of Honor Award. Recognizing eight directors each year, this prestigious award goes to those directors with high-quality concert programs who have contributed significantly to the profession of bands and band music. These directors have made lasting impacts on their communities. Williamson has been the director at Roane County High School for 32 of the past 35 years. Under Williams's direction, Roane County received superior ratings in Grade VI at ETSBOA’s Concert Performance Assessment every year from 1999 to 2017. Past honors include Past President of the Tennessee Bandmasters Association, induction into Phi Beta Mu, three performances at the Tennessee Music Educations Association Conference in 2000, 2009, and 2019. He has also served on the Board of Directors for ETSBOA as the Lower Area Representative and Jazz Chairman, and as the Past President of the Tennessee Secondary Schools Band Directors Association.

Date: 3/20/2021

Darrell Boston, Loretto TN, will be one of 300 members marching in the “Band Directors Marching Band” in the 2022 Rose Parade. This band is part of the Rose Parade’s “Saluting America’s Band Directors” project. The Tournament of Roses has included a spectacular animated float that will lead an unprecedented marching band of band directors from across the country as they recognize and salute the exceptional instruction, character development, and inspiration provided by music educators everywhere.

DATE: 3/7/2021

Congratulations to Texas ASBDA member Travis Smith who will be inducted into the 2021 Texas Phi Beta Mu Bandmasters Hall of Fame!